You are currently viewing the 2013 - 2014 Student Catalog. The current catalog is located here.

Student Life

Student Government Association (SGA)

The Student Government Association (SGA) is composed of all current Forsyth Technical Community College students and is governed by the Student Government Council. The Student Government Council consists of the student government officers and representatives. Students develop skills in leadership, networking, team building, and project management. These are lifelong skills that are useful in any career. Students also have an opportunity to engage in college-wide and community activities that not only enhance the individual but allow them to give back.

The Student Government Association is intended to be a laboratory of development for motivated students. This is an organization in which students can test their education, experiment with social and group dynamics and make positive, personal, and professional changes.

Responsibilities of the Student Government Council include developing and implementing student programs under the guidance of an advisor. Conducting meetings, addressing student issues, maintaining office hours, working and managing events are all part of the learning adventure with SGA. During meetings and projects, students learn and practice parliamentary procedure, group dynamics, team work, and gain the experience of getting things done in a diverse setting. The SGA is the voice of the students.

Membership Requirements

Students interested in becoming a member of the Student Government Council must:

  1. All candidates must be currently enrolled, and candidates who are returning students must have a cumulative 2.5 Grade Point Average.
  2. Applications will be reviewed and evaluated by the SGA Advisor(s). After being reviewed for eligibility, qualified applicants will be contacted for an interview with members of the SGA Interview Committee and SGA Advisors(s).
  3. No student who has been placed on probation by the College for violation of the Student Code of Conduct is eligible to hold a position in SGA.
  4. All members must satisfy the duties of office as stated by the SGA Constitution.
  5. Applicants must submit a personal statement of interest that is not to exceed one (1) page.
  6. Applicants must have at least three (3) faculty or staff member references. If you are a new student, talk with your instructors. Let them know what you plan to do and ask for their support.
  7. Applications may be submitted during designated membership drive periods which vary each year. Applications will not be accepted after the deadline.

Student Activities and Recreational Opportunities

Forsyth Tech strives to offer its students more than just an academic education. Efforts are made to provide students with extracurricular opportunities for involvement that will help to educate the total individual. By providing extracurricular activities, Forsyth Tech recognizes that a college education includes social, professional and cultural involvement, as well as academics. Intramural teams participate in coed basketball and volleyball. Equipment and registration fees are paid out of the student activity fee budget. Golf tournaments, bowling leagues and ice skating are also offered every year to students at a greatly reduced price. Students are invited to come by the Student Activities Office, Room 124 (1st floor), Technology and Student Services Building, Main Campus to find out more about what Forsyth Tech has to offer outside the classroom.

All credit students pay the student activity fee when they register and automatically become members of Forsyth Tech’s Student Government Association. Though called an activity fee, it is used for more than just providing activities. Below is a list of expenses covered by the student activity fee.

  1. Graduation expenses are partially covered. It costs over $25 per student to hold a graduation ceremony but there is no additional graduation cost to students.
  2. Student publications such as the Student Academic Planner and the student newsletter, Technically Speaking, are available to all students. The student newsletter, Technically Speaking, is published by students who are enrolled in the journalism class and students who become members of the Journalism Club. Students can become involved in writing, photography, editing, desktop publishing, ad solicitation and paper distribution. A student who is interested in becoming a newsletter staff member should register for Introduction to Journalism (JOU 110) or join the Journalism Club. The purpose of the student newsletter is for students to prepare and organize a publication that benefits other students. The responsibility of the institution is to provide guidance to the students and funding for the printing of the newsletter. All student communications shall explicitly state that the opinions expressed are not necessarily those of the College or of its students.
  3. All Student Government Association expenses are paid out of student activity fee funds. Expenses include the student activities director’s and secretary’s salaries, supplies and materials for the Student Activities Office and all SGA printing expenses.

If you have questions regarding student organizations, please contact Student Activities, Room 124 (1st floor), Technology and Student Services Building, Main Campus or call 336.734.7512.

Clubs and Advisors

Alpha Mu Beta Beverly Lewis 734.7512 blewis@forsythtech.edu
Architectural Technology Club Marty Marion 734.7278 mmarion@forsythtech.edu
Chessknowlogy Club Chris Martin
734.7341
cmartin@forsythtech.edu
Creative Writing Club Eliza Murphy 734.7156 emurphy@forsythtech.edu
Future Advocates for Children's Tomorrow Sharon Davis 734.7964 sdavis@forsythtech.edu
Geology Club Tim Binkley N/A tbinkley@forsythtech.edu
Hispanic Student Association Pauline Morris 631.1326 pmorris@forsythtech.edu
Human Services Club Debby Lattimore 734.7958 dlattimore@forsythtech.edu
Interior Design Club Giselle Taylor-Wells 757.3200 gtwells@forsythtech.edu
International Club Eliza Sieswerda 734.7156 esieswerda@forsythtech.edu
Journalism Club Elaine Hage
Chris Brincefield
Chris Samia
734.7459
734.7290
734.7383
ehage@forsythtech.edu
cbrincefield@forsythtech.edu   csamia@forsythtech.edu
Motor Sports Club  Mark Walker  734.7610 mwalker@forsythtech.edu
Paralegal Association Warren Hodges 734.7276 whodges@forsythtech.edu
Peers Accepting Challenges Together Sarah Hawks 734.7155 shawks@forsythtech.edu
Phi Theta Kappa Maryanna Richardson
Jane Cline
734.7174
734.7402
mrichardson@forsythtech.edu
jcline@forsythtech.edu
Philosophical Society Jim Fortuna
Sylvia Haith
Greg Chase
734.7454
734.7396
734.7246
jfortuna@forsythtech.edu
shaith@forsythtech.edu
gchase@forsythtech.edu
Sigma Theta Kappa (Criminal Justice)      
Student Nurses Association (SNA) Sue Ellen Miller
Ellen Wyrick
734.3250
734.3291
smiller@forsythtech.edu   mwyrick@forsythtech.edu
Student Practical Nursing Association Polly Davis 734.7419 pdavis@forsythtech.edu
Student Veterans Association of Forsyth Tech Cecelia Davis
Greg Chase
David Wood
734.7368
734.7246
757.3313
cdavis@forsythtech.edu
gchase@forsythtech.edu
dwood@forsythtech.edu
Sustainability and Environmental Technologies Club Toni Beery Ahn Nghiem 734.7244 734.7231 tbeery@forsythtech.edu anghiem@forsythtech.edu
Transitions Mary Wall 734.7158 mwall@forsythtech.edu
Women in Information Technologies Linda Cohen 734.7501 lcohen@forsythtech.edu