U.S. STATES, District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico

Alabama

Alabama Commission on Higher Education
Elizabeth C. French
Director, Office of Institutional Effectiveness and Planning Alabama Commission on Higher Education
Office of Institutional Effectiveness and Planning
334.242.2179
elizabeth.french@ache.alabama.gov

Alabama Department of Postsecondary Education
Annette Funderburk
Private School Licensure Specialist Alabama Department of Postsecondary
Education Office of Private School Licensing Division
334.293.4651
annette.funderburk@dpe.edu

Alabama Office of the Secretary of State
Rebecca Morris, CPM
Director of Business Services
Office of Alabama Secretary of State
334.242.7221
rebecca.morris@sos.alabama.gov

 

Alaska

Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education
Kierke A. Kussart
Program Coordinator for Institutional Authorization Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education
907.465.6741
Kierke.kussart@alaska.gov
EED.ACPE-IA@alaska.gov

 

Arizona

Arizona State Board for Private Postsecondary Education
Teri Stanfill Executive Director
Arizona State Board for Private Postsecondary Education
602.542.2399
teri.stanfill@azppse.gov

 

Arkansas

Arkansas Department of Higher Education
Alana Boles
Coordinator, Academic Affairs
Arkansas Department of Higher Education
501.371.2060
Alana.Boles@adhe.edu

Arkansas State Board of Private Career Education
Brenda Germann Director
Arkansas State Board of Private Career Education
501.683.8000
brenda.germann@arkansas.gov

 

California

California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
Joanne Wenzel Deputy Bureau Chief
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
916.431.6905
joanne.wenzel@dca.ca.gov

 

Colorado

Colorado Department of Higher Education
Heather DeLange Academic Policy Officer
Colorado Department of Higher Education
303.866.2723
heather.delange@dhe.state.co.us

Colorado Division of Private Occupational Schools
Georgia Roberts Deputy Director
Division of Private Occupational Schools
303.866.2723
Georgia.roberts@dhe.state.co.us

 

Connecticut

Connecticut Office of Higher Education
Patricia Santoro
Director of Academic Affairs
Office of Financial and Academic Affairs for Higher Education
860.947.1822
PSantoro@ctdhe.org

 

Delaware

Delaware Department of Education
Angeline Willen
Director, Teacher & Administrator Quality Development Delaware Department of Education
302.857.3388
angeline.willen@doe.k12.de.us

 

District of Columbia

DC Education Licensure Commission
Robin Y. Jenkins Executive Director
DC Education Licensure Commission
202.724.2095
robin.jenkins@dc.gov

 

Florida

Florida Department of Education, Commission for Independent Education
Sam Ferguson Executive Director
Commission for Independent Education Florida Department of Education
850.245.3200
sam.ferguson@fldoe.org

 

Georgia

Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission
Carl G. Camann, Ph.D. Deputy Director
Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission
770.414.3208
ccam@npec.state.ga.us

 

Hawaii

Hawaii Post-Secondary Education Authorization Program
Bobbi Lum-Mew
Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs
808.586.PEAP (7327)
bobbi.lum-mew@dcca.hawaii.gov

 

Idaho

Idaho State Board of Education
Valerie Fenske
State Coordinator for Private Colleges & Proprietary Schools Idaho State Board of Education
208.332.1587
valerie.fenske@osbe.idaho.gov

 

Illinois

Illinois Board of Higher Education
Dr. Dan Cullen
Deputy Director, Academic Affairs Illinois Board of Higher Education
431 East Adams Street, Second Floor Springfield, IL 62701
217.557.7352
Cullen@ibhe.org

 

Indiana

Indiana Commission for Higher Education
Public, and Private Non-Profit, Degree-Granting Institutions:
Ken Sauer, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Commissioner for Research and Academic Affairs, Indiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE)
Executive Director, Indiana Board for Proprietary Education (BPE)
317.464.4400 ext. 121
ksauer@che.in.gov

Private For-Profit, Degree-Granting Institutions:
Ross Miller
Director of Accreditation and Regulatory Compliance Indiana Board for Proprietary Education (BPE)/
Indiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE) 317.464.4400 Ext. 138
rmiller@bpe.che.in.gov

Indiana Department of Workforce Development
Dinell Edge Accreditation Specialist
Office for Career and Technical Schools (OCTS)
Indiana Department of Workforce Development (DWD)
317.234.8338
dedge1@dwd.in.gov

 

Iowa

Iowa College Student Aid Commission
Carolyn Small
Postsecondary Registration Administrator Iowa College Student Aid Commission
515.725.3413
carolyn.small@iowa.gov

 

Kansas

Kansas Board of Regents
Jacqueline Johnson
Director of Private Postsecondary and Out-of-State Education Kansas Board of Regents
785.296.4917
jjohnson@ksbor.org

 

Kentucky

Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education
Sarah Levy, J.D.
Director of Postsecondary Licensing Council on Postsecondary Education
502.573.1555, ext. 350
sarah.levy@ky.gov

Kentucky Commission on Proprietary Education
Steve Wilborn
Interim Executive Director
Kentucky Commission on Proprietary Education
502.564.4185
kcpe@ky.gov

 

Louisiana

Louisiana Board of Regents
Proprietary Schools: Carol Marabella New School Contact
Program Manager/Proprietary  Schools Louisiana Board of Regents
225.342.4253
carol.marabella@la.gov

Academic Degree-Granting Institutions:
Larry Tremblay
Deputy Commissioner for Academic and Student Affairs Louisiana Board of Regents
225.342.4253
larry.tremblay@la.gov

 

Maine

Maine Department of Education, Office of Higher Education
Laurie Halligan
Higher Education Specialist Maine Department of Education Augusta, Maine 04333
207.624.6607
laurie.halligan@maine.gov

 

Maryland

Maryland Higher Education Commission
Shawna Acker-Ball, Ph.D. Director of Academic Affairs Maryland Higher Education Commission
410.767.3268
sackerball@mhec.state.md.us

 

Massachusets

Massachusetts Department of Higher Education
Academic Policy Staff
Massachusetts Department of Higher Education
617.994.6922
approvalquery@bhe.mass.edu

 

Michigan

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Michael Beamish Manager
Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Corporations, Securities & Commercial Licensing Licensing Division
517.241.6806
beamishm@michigan.gov

 

Minnesota

Minnesota Office of Higher Education
George R. Roedler, Jr., JD
Manager, Institutional Registration & Licensing Minnesota Office of Higher Education
651.259.3975
george.roedler@state.mn.us

 

Mississipi

Mississippi Commission on College Accreditation
Menia Dykes
Director of Accreditation
Mississippi Commission on College Accreditation
601.432.6372
mdykes@mississippi.edu

Commission on Proprietary School and College Registration
Kim Verneuille
Director of Proprietary Schools
Commission on Proprietary Schools and College Registration (CPSCR)
601.432.6185
kverneuille@mccb.edu

 

Missouri

Missouri Department of Higher Education
 Missouri-Based Institutions and Non-Missouri Private Institutions:
Leroy Wade
Deputy Commissioner Missouri Department of Higher Education
573.751.2361
leroy.wade@dhe.mo.gov

Non-Missouri Public Institutions:
Rusty Monhollon
Assistant Commissioner for Academic Affairs Missouri Department of Higher Education
573.751.2361
rusty.monhollon@dhe.mo.gov

 

Montana

Montana University System, Montana Board of Regents
Karin J. Janssen
CCN Program Manager
Academic Policy and Process Analyst Montana University System Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education
406.444.0607
kjanssen@montana.edu

 

Nebraska 

Nebraska Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education
Kathleen Fimple
Academic Programs Officer
Nebraska’s Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education
402.471.0030
kathleen.fimple@nebraska.gov

Nebraska Department of Education, Private Postsecondary Career Schools
Brad Dirksen Program Director
Nebraska Department of Education
402.471.4825
Brad.dirksen@nebraska.gov

 

Nevada

Nevada Commission on Postsecondary Education
David Perlman Administrator
Nevada Commission on Postsecondary Education
702.486.7330
dperlman@cpe.state.nv.us

 

New Hampshire

New Hampshire Department of Education
Patricia Edes Assistant to Director
New Hampshire Department of Education
Division of Higher Education • Higher Education Commission
603.271.0257
patricia.edes@doe.nh.gov

 

New Jersey

New Jersey Secretary of Higher Education
Rochelle Hendricks
Secretary of Higher Education
State of New Jersey, Office of the Secretary of Higher Education
609.292.4310 and 609.292.8052
Assistant: Michelle Robinson, Michelle.Robinson@njhe.state.nj.us
http://www.state.nj.us/highereducation/index.html

New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development
Robert Grimmie
Director, Center for Occupational Employment Information New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development
609.292.8658
Robert.Grimmie@dol.state.nj.us  schoolapprovalunit@dol.state.nj.us

 

New Mexico

New Mexico Higher Education Department
Questions about policies and application processes:
Diane Vigil-Hayes
Private & Proprietary Schools Administrator and Compliance Officer
New Mexico Higher Education Department
505.476.8418
Diane.Vigil@state.nm.us

Questions about agency’s authority:
David Mathews
Director of Private & Proprietary Schools and General Counsel New Mexico Higher Education Department
505.476.8402
David.Mathews@state.nm.us

 

New York

New York State Department of Education, Bureau of Proprietary School Supervision
Monica Borden
School Licensing Supervisor
Bureau of Proprietary School Supervision New York State Department of Education
518.474.3969
mborden@mail.nysed.gov

New York State Department of Education, Office of College and University Evaluation
Ellen Zunon
Office of College and University Evaluation New York State Department of Education
518.474.2593
ezunon@mail.nysed.gov

 

North Carolina

North Carolina Post-Secondary Education Complaints
c/o Student Complaints
University of North Carolina System Office 910 Raleigh Road, Chapel Hill, NC 27515-2688
919.962.4550
studentcomplaint@northcarolina.edu

 

North Dakota

North Dakota State Board of Higher Education
Tanya Spilovoy
Director, Distance Education and State Authorization North Dakota University System
701.224.2498
tanya.spilovoy@ndus.edu

 

Ohio

Ohio Board of Regents
Shane DeGarmo
Senior Director, Program Development and Approval The Ohio Board of Regents
614.387.1215
sdegarmo@regents.state.oh.us

Ohio State Board of Career Colleges and Schools
John Ware Executive Director
Ohio State Board of Career Colleges and Schools
614.466.7802
john.ware@scr.state.oh.us

 

Oklahoma

Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education
Gina M. Wekke
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education
405.234.4300
gwekke@osrhe.edu

The Oklahoma Board of Private Vocational Schools
Nora Ann House, MBA, CPA Director
The Oklahoma Board of Private Vocational Schools
405.528.3370
nhouse@obpvs.ok.gov

Oklahoma Board of Career and Technology Education
Joe Robinson
Associate State Director of Field Services Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education
405.743.5198
jrobi@okcareertech.org
http://www.okcareertech.org

 

Oregon 

Oregon Office of Degree Authorization
Alethia Miller
Academic Program Evaluator
Program Evaluator for Out-of-State Institutions,
Office of Degree Authorization Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission
503.373.0003
alethia.miller@state.or.us

Oregon Department of Education, Private Career Schools Office
Matthew Barber
Operations, Fiscal & Data Management Specialist
Oregon Department of Education, Private and Career Schools Office
503.947.5716
matt.barber@state.or.us

 

Pennsylvania 

Pennsylvania Department of Education
Patricia Landis
Division Chief, Higher and Career Education Pennsylvania Department of Education
717.783.8228
ra-distanceeducation@pa.gov
RA-COLLUNIVSEMINFO@state.pa.us

 

Puerto Rico 

Puerto Rico Council on Education
Idalia I. Zavala Maldonado
Director, Licensing and Accreditation Area Puerto Rico Council on Education
787.641.7100
izavala@ce.pr.gov

 

Rhode Island 

Rhode Island Board of Governors for Higher Education
Deanna Velletri
Rhode Island Office of Higher Education Academic and Student Affairs
401.456.6010
dvelletri@ribghe.org

 

South Carolina 

South Carolina Commission on Higher Education
Renea Eshleman
Program Manager,
Non-Public Postsecondary Institution Licensing South Carolina Commission on Higher Education
803.737.2281
reshleman@che.sc.gov

 

South Dakota 

South Dakota Secretary of State
Mike Lauritsen Postsecondary Education
Office of the South Dakota Secretary of State, Jason M. Gant
605.773.3537
sos.edu@state.sd.us

 

Tennessee

Tennessee Higher Education Commission
Information regarding THEC’s authority and policies:
Lindsey Vaughan, Esq.
Assistant Director for Regulatory Affairs Tennessee Higher Education Commission
615.253.8874
lindsey.vaughan@tn.gov

Information regarding the application process:
Teresa Warren
Technical Educational Specialist Tennessee Higher Education Commission
615.253.6285
teresa.warren@tn.gov

 

Texas

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Cathie Maeyaert Special Projects Director
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
512.427.6527
Cathie.Maeyaert@THECB.state.tx.us

Texas Workforce Commission
Catherine Bingle
Director of Career Schools and Colleges Texas Workforce Commission
512.463.9544
catherine.bingle@twc.state.tx.us

Please contact TWC career schools and colleges:
866.256.6333, Option 1
career.schools@twc.state.tx.us

 

Utah

Utah Division of Consumer Protection
Marla Winegar Administrator
Utah Division of Consumer Protection
801.530.6601
mwinegar@utah.gov

 

Vermont 

Vermont State Board of Education
Cathy Hilgendorf
Postsecondary Approval Coordinator Vermont Agency of Education
802.828.5402
cathy.hilgendorf@state.vt.us

 

Virginia

State Council for Higher Education in Virginia
Joe DeFilippo
Director of Academic Affairs and Planning
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV) Private and Out-of-State Post-secondary Education
804.225.2629
JoeDeFilippo@schev.edu

 

Washington

Washington Student Achievement Council
Karen Oelschlager
Program Administrator/Degree Authorization Washington Student Achievement Council
360.753.7869
kareno@wsac.wa.gov

Washington Workforce Training and Education Coordinating Board
Patricia Spencer
Program Manager, Private Vocational School Licensing and Consumer Protection
Washington Workforce Training and Education Coordinating Board
360.709.4641
pspencer@wtb.wa.gov

 

West Virginia 

West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission
Mark Stotler
Assistant Director of Academic Affairs
West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission
304.558.0262
stotler@hepc.wvnet.edu

West Virginia Council for Community and Technical College Education
Degree Granting Institutions:
Mark Stotler
Assistant Director of Academic Affairs
West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission
304.558.0262
stotler@hepc.wvnet.edu

Business, Occupational and Trade Schools:
Teresa Smith Administrative Associate
West Virginia Council for Community and Technical College Education
304.558.2411
tsmith@wvctcs.org

 

Wisconsin 

Wisconsin Educational Approval Board
David C. Dies Executive Secretary
Wisconsin Educational Approval Board 608.267.7733
david.dies@eab.state.wi.us

 

Wyoming 

Wyoming Department of Education
Elaine Marces
Private School Program Manager Wyoming Department of Education
307.777.6210
elaine.marces@wyo.gov

 

American Samoa 

American Samoa Community College
Kathleen Kolhoff, Ph.D. Vice President
Academic and Student Affairs American Samoa Community College
684.699.9155
k.kolhoff@amsamoa.edu

 

Federated States of Micronesia

College of Micronesia
Mariana Ben, Vice President
College of Micronesia-FSM
mben@comfsm.fm

 

Guam 

Guam Community College
Mary Okada
President of Guam Community College
mary.okada@guamcc.edu

University of Guam
Robert Underwood President of the University of Guam
anacletus2010@gmail.com

 

Republic of Palau 

Palau Community College
Dr. Patrick U. Tellei President
Palau Community College
680.488.1669
tellei@palau.edu

 

Republic of the Marshall Islands

 Scholarship Grant and Loan Board
Brenda Alik Maddison
Assistant Secretary of Policy and Planning
balikmad@yahoo.com

 

The Commonwealth of Mariana Islands

Northern Marianas College
Galvin Deleon Guerrero Accreditation Liaison
Northern Marianas College
galving@nmcnet.edu

 

U.S. Virgin Islands 

US Virgin Islands Department of Education
Wynant Watty-Benjamin
Chief of Staff,
Office of the Commissioner US Virgin Islands Department of Education
wwbenjamin@doe.vi