Firefighter Certification Courses

Preregistration is required for any firefighter and rescue certification courses listed below.

 

Firefighter II Schedule 2019

Forsyth Tech – Northwest Forsyth Center/ESTC

 

FIP 3024 – Health & Wellness (8 hours)

Day/Date Hours of Class
Tuesday, February 5, 2019 6:30 – 8:30 PM (2 hrs.)
Wednesday, 02/06/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 02/07/19 – Exam 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)

 

FIP 3001 – Orientation & Safety (17 hours)

Day/Date Hours of Class
Tuesday, 02/12/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 02/13/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 02/14/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Tuesday, 02/19/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 02/20/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 02/21/19 – Exam 6:30 – 8:30 PM (2 hrs.)

 

FIP 3004 – Fire Behavior (12 hours)

Day/Date Hours of Class
Tuesday, 02/26/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 02/27/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 02/28/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Tuesday, March 03/05/19 – Exam 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)

 

FIP 3006 – Personal Protective Eq. (21 hours)

Day/Date Hours of Class
Wednesday, 03/06/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 03/07/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Tuesday, 03/12/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 03/13/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 03/14/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Saturday, 03/16/19 – Exam 09:00 AM – 4:00 PM (6 hrs.)

 

FIP 3005 – Portable Extinguishers (8 hours)

Day/Date Hours of Class
Tuesday, 03/19/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 03/20/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 03/21/19 – Exam 6:30 – 8:30 PM (2 hrs.)

 

FIP 3009 – Ropes (12 hours)

Day/Date Hours of Class
Tuesday, 03/26/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 03/27/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 03/28/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Tuesday, April 02, 2019 – Exam 6:30 – 8:30 PM (2 hrs.)

 

FIP 3007 – Forcible Entry (12 hours)

Day/Date Hours of Class
Wednesday, 04/03/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 04/04/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Saturday, 04/06/19 – Exam 09:00 AM – 4:00 PM (6 hrs.)

 

FIP 3010 – Ladders (18 hours)

Day/Date Hours of Class
Tuesday, 04/09/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 04/10/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 04/11/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Tuesday, 04/16/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 04/17/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 04/18/19 – Exam 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)

 

FIP 3008 – Ventilation (21 hours)

Day/Date Hours of Class
Tuesday, 04/23/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 04/24/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 04/25/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Tuesday, 04/30/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Saturday, 05/04/19 – Exam 09:00 AM – 4:00 PM (6 hrs.)

 

FIP 3011 – Fire Hose/Streams and Appliances (21 hours)

Day/Date Hours of Class
Tuesday, 05/07/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 05/08/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.) NO CU
Thursday, 05/09/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Tuesday, 05/14/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
*Wednesday, 05/15/19* 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Saturday, 05/18/19 – Exam 09:00 AM – 4:00 PM (6 hrs.)

 

FIP 3012 – Foam Fire Streams (9 hours)

Day/Date Hours of Class
Tuesday, 05/21/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 05/22/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 05/23/19 – Exam 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)

 

FIP 3014 – Loss Control (17 hours)

Day/Date Hours of Class
Tuesday, 05/28/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 05/29/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 05/30/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Saturday, June 01, 2019 – Exam 08:00 AM – 5:00 PM (8 hrs.)

 

FIP 3018 – Water Supplies (21 Hours)

Day/Date Hours of Class
Tuesday, 06/04/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 06/05/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 06/06/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Tuesday, 06/11/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 06/12/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 06/13/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Tuesday, 06/18/19 – Exam 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)

 

FIP 3003 – Alarms & Communications (18 hours)

Day/Date Hours of Class
Wednesday, 06/19/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 06/20/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Tuesday, 06/25/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 06/26/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 06/27/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Tuesday, July 9, 2019Exam 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)

 

FIP 3019 – Sprinklers (18 hours)

Day/Date Hours of Class
Wednesday, 07/10/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 07/11/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Tuesday, 07/16/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 07/17/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 07/18/19- Exam 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)

 

FIP 3021 – Fire & Life Safety (12 hours)

Day/Date Hours of Class
Tuesday, 07/23/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 07/24/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 07/25/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Tuesday, 07/30/19 – Exam 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)

 

FIP 3022 – Building Construction (18 hours)

Day/Date Hours of Class
Wednesday, 07/31/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, August 01/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Saturday, 08/03/19 8:00 AM – 4:00 PM (7 hrs.)
Tuesday, 08/06/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 08/07/19 – Exam 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)

 

FIP 3017 – Rescue (20 hours)

Day/Date Hours of Class
TBA TBA
Wednesday, 08/14/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 08/15/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Saturday, 08/17/19 08:00 AM – 5:00 PM (8hrs.)
Tuesday, 08/20/19 – Exam 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)

 

FIP 3013 – Fire Control (37 hours)

Day/Date Hours of Class
Wednesday, 08/21/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 08/22/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Tuesday, 08/27/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 08/28/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 08/29/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, September 4, 2019 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 09/05/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Saturday, 09/ 07/19 08:00 AM – 4:00 PM (7 hrs.)
Tuesday, 09/10/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 09/11/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 09/11/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)

 

FIP 3026 – Calling the Mayday (10 hours)

Day/Date Hours of Class
Tuesday, 09/17/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Saturday, 09/21/19 – Exam 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM (8hrs.)

 

FIP 7000 – Traffic Incident (4 hours)

Day/Date Hours of Class
Thursday, 10/03/19 6:00 – 10:00 PM (4 hrs.)

 

FIP 3025 – Safety & Survival (18 hours)

Day/Date Hours of Class
Tuesday, 09/24/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 09/25/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 09/26/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Tuesday, October 1, 2019 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 10/02/19 – Exam 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)

 

FIP 3351 – Haz Mat Responder (39 hours)

Day/Date Hours of Class
Tuesday, 10/08/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 10/09/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 10/10/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 10/16/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 10/17/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Tuesday, 10/22/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 10/23/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Thursday, 10/24/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Tuesday, 10/29/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Wednesday, 10/30/19 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)
Saturday, 11/02/19 8:00 AM – 3:00 PM (6 hrs.)
Tuesday, 11/05/19 – Exam 6:30 – 9:30 PM (3 hrs.)

 

FIP 3016 – Emergency Medical Care (TBD based on need)

Day/Date Hours of Class
TBD TBD

 

Forsyth Technical Community College – Training Calendar 2019

Course Offering Dates Times
Fire Officer I 3/19, 3/20, 3/21, 3/26, 3/27 and 3/28
* (registration cut off is 2/28/19)
9:00 AM – 4:00 PM
Fire Officer II 4/16, 4/17, 4/18, 4/23, 4/24 and 4/25
* (registration cut off is 3/29/19)
9:00 AM – 3:00 PM
Fire Investigator Technician (FIT) May 20 through 24, 2019
June 3 through 6, 2019
(Two week course – 80 Hours)
* (registration cut off is 4/12/19)
8:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Fire Officer I & II Block 6/4, 6/5, 6/6, 6/11, 6/12, 6/13, 6/18 and 6/19
* (registration cut off is 5/24/19)
8:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Chief 101 6/24
* (registration cut off is 6/10/19)
8:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Instructor I 9/17, 9/18, 9/19, 9/24 and 9/25
* (registration cut off is 8/30/19)
9:00 AM – 4:00 PM
Instructor II 10/8, 10/9, 10/10, 10/15 and 10/16
* (registration cut off is 9/27/19)
8:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Instructor I & II
Block
10/22, 10/23, 10/24, 10/29, 10/30, 10/31, 11/4, and 11/5
* (registration cut off is 10/4/19)
8:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Chief 101 Upgrade 11/15
* (registration cut off is 11/01/19)
1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
Fire & Life Safety Educator 12/2 through 12/6
* (registration cut off is 11/15/19)
8:00 AM – 5:00 PM

NotePre-registration is required for all courses!

 

To register for these courses, contact:

Derek Hughes
336.757.3056
dhughes@forsythtech.edu

Wesley Hutchins
336.757.3053
whutchins@forsythtech.edu

Erica Lelle
336.757.3055
elelle@forsythtech.edu

Forsyth Tech Fire Academy

Forsyth Tech Fire Academy is an intense 19-week program (8:00 AM – 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday) that uses real life scenarios and conditions to prepare firefighters for the challenges they will face. It provides rigorous training and will test you physically and mentally. You will work with highly qualified instructors who have the experience and know-how to train you for anything, and you’ll learn using the latest technology.

The Academy takes place at the Emergency Services Training Center at the Northwest Forsyth Center in King. The facility offers the latest advancements in firefighter training, including a six-story Burn Building that lets you experience a variety of real life scenarios under controlled burn conditions, and a five-story Drill Tower that lets you learn how to get in and out of high-rise buildings.

To be accepted into Forsyth Tech Fire Academy, you must be at least 18 years of age and meet the following requirements:

  • Complete a rigorous physical ability exam
  • Complete an application packet
  • Obtain medical and physical exams at your own expense
  • Submit letters of reference regarding attitude and self discipline

If you believe you can meet the criteria for acceptance and make it through the training, we urge you to apply. It will prepare you for a career with rewards like no other. For information on applying, contact:

Erica Lelle
336.757.3055
elelle@forsythtech.edu

Wesley Hutchins
336.757.3053
whutchins@forsythtech.edu

Completion of Forsyth Tech Firefighter Academy will earn you the following certifications:

  • Firefighter I & II
  • Emergency Medical Technician
  • Technical Rescue General

As a graduate of the Academy, you will be qualified to work as a firefighter and can apply for a position with your local fire department. If you want to expand your training, Forsyth Tech also offers an Associate of Applied Science degree in Fire Protection Technology as well as an Associate of Applied Science in Emergency Medical Science.