Overview

Online and distance education is an important part of Forsyth Tech’s program offerings, with many students participating in federal financial aid. Recent amendments to the Higher Education Act of 1965 include changes in regulation for State Authorization that may impact online, distance, and print-based education providers. The related regulations include:

If an institution is offering postsecondary education through distance or correspondence education to students in a State in which it is not physically located or in which it is otherwise subject to State jurisdiction as determined by the State, the institution must meet any State requirements for it to be legally offering postsecondary distance or correspondence education in that State. An institution must be able to document to the Secretary the State’s approval upon request. (Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1001 and 1002)

What Forsyth Tech is Doing

Forsyth Tech is working to evaluate and comply with these changes and will provide up-to-date information as it becomes available.

Complaint Resolution

In compliance with these regulations, an institution offering distance education must provide enrolled and prospective students with contact information for filing complaints with its accrediting agency and with the appropriate state agency for handling complaints in the student’s state.

While Forsyth Tech strives to provide the highest quality education opportunities available, conflicts may arise. It is our aim to resolve any grievances, complaints, and concerns in an expeditious, fair, and amicable manner. If an issue cannot be solved by Forsyth Tech’s internal processes, you may choose to file a complaint with your state of residence. Here is a a list of
Contact Information for Individual States

Forsyth Tech Complaint Resolution Process

Forsyth Technical Community College has a complaint resolution process for academic matters and discrimination issues. Both complaint resolution processes are outlined in the Student Handbook. Students should follow the appropriate process based on the complaint.

  • For academic matters, students should follow the academic appeals process.
  • For discrimination issues, students should follow the Student Grievance Policy.

Student Handbook
Student Grievance Form

For more information contact:

Dr. James Cook
Associate Vice President, Transformative Learning
2100 Silas Creek Parkway
Winston-Salem, NC
Robert L. Strickland Center, room 2353

T: 336.734.7311
Email Address: jcook@forsythtech.edu

North Carolina Post-secondary Education Complaints (NCP-SEC )

If a complaint cannot be resolved through the institution’s complaint process, students may file a complaint with the North Carolina Post-Secondary Education Complaints unit. Please review their Post-secondary Education Complaint Policy and complete the NCP-SEC Student Complaint Form. Submit the form to:

North Carolina Post-Secondary Education Complaints
c/o Student Complaints
University of North Carolina System Office
910 Raleigh Road, Chapel Hill, NC 27515-2688

Phone Number: 919.962.4550
Website: North Carolina Post-Secondary Education Complaints
Email Address: studentcomplaint@northcarolina.edu

SACSCOC Student Complaint Process

If for some reason the complaint is not satisfactorily resolved, the next step would be to file a complaint with Forsyth Tech’s accrediting agency. Forsyth Tech is regionally accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). The commission has authorized Forsyth Tech to offer certificates, diplomas, and associate’s degrees. Students who file a complaint with the accrediting agency should follow the SACSCOC Complaint Procedure. The contact information for SACS is:

1866 Southern Lane
Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097

Telephone: 404.679.4500
Website: www.sacscoc.org

SARA-NC Complaint Process

Students may also file a complaint through SARA-NC. SARA-NC is the portal for North Carolina. Students should follow the SARA-NC Complaint Process and use the SARA-NC Complaint Form (PDF).

SARA-NC Contact Information:

SARA North Carolina
North Carolina State Education Assistance Authority
P.O. Box 14103
Research Triangle Park, NC 27709

T: (855) SARA-1-NC (855.727.2162)
T: 919.549.8614, ext. 4667

Website: SARANC
Email Address: information@saranc.org

Professional Licensure Disclosure

Students who reside outside of North Carolina and plan to enroll in any Forsyth Technical Community College online education course(s), degree and/or certificate program that may lead to professional licensure should contact the program lead of each program to discuss licensure options.

Health Technology Programs

Click a Program’s Title to Download its Licensure Disclosure Form

Associate Degree Nursing
Sharon Moore
336.734.7569
smoore@forsythtech.edu

Cardiovascular Sonography
336-757-3313
David Wood
dwood@forsythtech.edu

Computer Tomography
Cindy Smith
336-734-7560
csmith@forsythtech.edu

Dental Assisting
Kelly Cook
336-734-7447
kcook@forsythtech.edu

Dental Hygiene
Ann Crites
336-734-7223
acrites@forsythtech.edu

Interventional Cardiac & Vascular Technology
Marti Feathers-Magee
336-734-7189
mfeathers-magee@forsythtech.edu

Magnetic Resonance Imaging
Melissa Smith
336-757-3349
msmith@forsythtech.edu

Medical Assisting
Anna Hilton
336-734-7362
ahilton@forsythtech.edu

Medical Sonography
John Cassell
336-734-7430
jcassell@forsythtech.edu

Nuclear Medicine Technology
Jawahar Jesrani
336-734-7604
jjesrani@forsythtech.edu

Pharmacy
Mary Chamberlain
336-757-3350
mchamberlain@forsythtech.edu

Practical Nursing Diploma
Sharon Moore
336.734.7569
smoore@forsythtech.edu

Radiation Therapy Technology
Chris Gibson
336-734-7184
cgibson@forsythtech.edu

Respiratory Therapy
John Sherman
336-757-3288
jsherman@forsythtech.edu

Radiography
Nancy Andrews-Hall
336-734-7433
nandrews-hall@forsythtech.edu

Therapeutic Massage
Kim Moore
336-734-7916
kmoore@forsythtech.edu

Math Sciences Technology Programs

Click a Program’s Title to Download its Licensure Disclosure Form

Emergency Medical Science
Samuel Pennington
336-757-3063
spennington@forsythtech.edu