February 20, 2023

Forsyth Tech has recognized 18 students as finalists for the Student Excellence Awards, which rewards academic achievement and service. Three of the eighteen students will go on to compete for recognition at the state level, after interviews with a campus committee.

The 18 students range in age from teenagers to mid-fifties, and every student has a GPA of at least 3.5. The group included students that serve in student government, in honor societies, as volunteers in the community; and they are studying a wide range of topics, including nursing, business, special education, social work and more.

Three students from the group of 18 will be recognized as: the Dallas Herring Achievement Award nominee, the Gov. Robert W. Scott Student Leadership Award nominee or the Academic Excellence Award winner. These awards are recognized by the North Carolina Community College System Office, and nominees come from each of the 58 community colleges in NC. 

According to the NCCS website, “The Dallas Herring Achievement Award was established by the North Carolina Community College System in 2010 to honor the late Dr. Dallas Herring, one of the state’s earliest advocates of community colleges.  The award is bestowed annually upon a current or former student who best embodies Dr. Herring’s philosophy of “taking people where they are and carrying them as far as they can go.”

Also according to the NCCS website, “In 2004, the North Carolina Association of Community College Presidents created the Governor Robert Scott Leadership Award as a way to (1) recognize student leadership on a statewide level while also (2) honoring former Governor Bob Scott.  Governor Scott served as the State’s chief executive from 1968-1972 and then was president of our system for 12 years from 1983-1995.  Governor Scott passed away in January of 2009, but he was very humbled that the system named a student award in his honor.  This is an award designed to highlight outstanding curriculum student leadership and service.”

The Academic Achievement Award is granted to one student from each of the 58 colleges to recognize outstanding academic achievements, and each student must have a GPA of at least 3.25. 

 Forsyth Tech’s Student Excellence Awards Finalists are: 

  • Cara Balance
  • Ocir Black
  • Kelly Brown
  • Gloriana Ordoñez Carbóni
  • Julian Cambridge
  • Zariah Carter
  • Abigail Corona
  • Viany Cortez
  • Mike Dabi
  • Daia Dawkins
  • Brandon Denny
  • Faith Drake
  • Keren Ferris
  • Tanya Garanzuay
  • Ivory Hubbard
  • Sophia Jo
  • Hannah Jones
  • Cambridge Julian
  • Hannah McElhaney
  • Carolyn McMahon
  • Sarah Stringer
  • Dustin Tilley
  • Elizabeth Walker
  • Kenndra Wilson

These 18 students represent the best of the vibrant and diverse community that can be found at each of Forsyth Tech’s campuses and centers throughout Forsyth and Stokes Counties. 

“We are proud of these exceptional students,” said Dr. Janet Spriggs, President of Forsyth Tech. “They are blazing trails inside and outside of the classroom, and our college and communities are better, thanks to their hard work and dedication.”

The college plans to announce the three nominees that will compete statewide later this month.